Exhibition

just opened

Who Holds The Sword?

27 Jan 2023 – 10 Mar 2023

Regular hours

Monday
Closed
Tuesday
Closed
Wednesday
Closed
Thursday
12:00 – 17:00
Friday
12:00 – 17:00
Saturday
12:00 – 17:00
Sunday
12:00 – 17:00

Free admission

Save Event: Who Holds The Sword?2

I've seen this

People who have saved this event:

close

Hypha Studios Stratford

London
England, United Kingdom

Event map

Immerse yourself in the swamp-like world of ‘Who holds the sword?’ - an exhibition of work with the image of the sword at its centre.

About

Encompassing sculpture, painting, installation and performance this playful show skews traditional gender norms via a contemporary medieval focus. The work fills the space to create an atmospheric environment that plays with perception and creates surprise. A PVC pig’s head eyeballs a flaccid knight, chain mail underpants glint in the light cast from a triple pronged painted blade. Adorning the walls is an armoury of swords forged from a range of materials: some tufted, some knitted, some painted and some you only hold in your head. At times the exhibition becomes setting for sword making workshops and medieval karaoke. Sited in a former Sainsbury’s supermarket this exhibition is supported by HYPHA STUDIOS and made possible by Get Living.

Haydn Albrow @haydndoesart
Isobel Atacus @isobelatacus
Corsin Billeter @cbilleter
Flora Bradwell @florabradwellart
Anna Choutova @annachoutova1
Laura Copsey @laurachops
Sophie Goodchild @sophiegoodchild
Denise Hickey @up._.at._.dawn
Hee Jyung Kim @heejyungkim
Sophie Lourdes Knight @sophielourdesknight
Andras Nagy-Sandor @andrasnagysandor
Alice Macdonald @alice__mac
Lindsey Jean McLean @lindseyjeanmclean
Taryn O’Reilly @artandwhiskey
Clementine Parrot #Clementine Parrot
Leon Pozniakow @leonpozniakow
Jack Sutherland @jqsutherland
Demelza Watts @demelza.watts
Katherine Vesey #Katherine Vesey

Contact: Lindsey Jean Mclean
lindseyjeanmclean@hotmail.com
07903650698

ABOUT THE ARTISTS
Lindsey, Flora and Isobel are three visual artists who met through an artist-run space, and at the Slade. Their work encompasses painting, sculpture, writing and installation, yet shares a focus on critical and celebratory approaches to world-building through material thinking. They are female-identifying and living locally to Stratford.

They’ve worked individually and collectively across numerous curatorial projects, including the icing room, Gaff, Narrow Gallery and Bad Art. Often there’s been a strong DIY element to their work, always run on a shoestring. More recently they have exhibited in and co-curated Snakes on a Picture Plane at the UK Mexican Arts Society, London. Individual awards include Elizabeth Greenshields (Lindsey), Gilbert Bayes (Flora) and BAG Trust Artworks Open (Isobel).

CuratorsToggle

Lindsey Jean McLean

Isobel Atacus

Flora Bradwell

Flora Bradwell

Exhibiting artistsToggle

Haydn Albrow

Haydn Albrow

Katherine Vesey

Demelza Watts

Jack Sutherland

Leon Pozniakow

Clementine Parrot

Taryn O'Reilly

Lindsey Jean McLean

Alice Macdonald

Andras Nagy-Sandor

Sophie Lourdes Knight

Hee Jyung Kim

Denise Hickey

Sophie Goodchild

Laura Copsey

Anna Choutova

Flora Bradwell

Flora Bradwell

Corsin Billeter

Isobel Atacus

Comments

Have you been to this event? Share your insights and give it a review below.