Icarus ACT II: The Fall

29 Nov 2012 – 12 Dec 2012

SSE Space

London, United Kingdom


Save Event: Icarus ACT II: The Fall

I've seen this

People who have saved this event:


Icarus ACT II: The Fall


ICARUS ACT II: THE FALL MONDAY 10/12/12 1930-2300 TESTBED1 33, Parkgate Rd London SW11 4NP iv-i.co.uk info@iv-i.co.uk Involving 41 architects and artists, Fragments of Icarus is a project divided into four acts. For the second act, ruined and re-imagined pieces from the first act (Bloomsbury Festival) create a scene, which is designed to be explored. Their construction tests models of collaborative practice and proposes a field for mutual artistic and architectural exchange. The resulting immersive space intends to investigate architecture's ability to manipulate its inhabitants, whilst acting as a model for the construction of filmic narrative. The notion of collaboration has been lauded and liberally applied to contemporary art and design practice. Whether it is the collaboration of the producer, the viewer or the world at large, the meme of collaboration is rife. Yet it is always viewed as intrinsically democratic, politically correct and morally just. This is despite its ability to encourage sublimation of individualism, justify design by committee, and ratify coercion packaged as consultation. To be able to interrogate both the production of and participation in collaborative work, filmic techniques are used. By utilising storyboarded steps to the production of architectural pieces, anarchic methods of collaboration are able to flourish. This built work then provides a framework for action and inhabitation, just as a script provides actors with direction for their movement and dialogue. In this way the public become puppets and the architects puppeteers. PARTICIPATING ARTISTS Joseph Augustin Mat Barnes Emma Bailey Katherine Cannon Clio Capielle Beth Collar Pippa Connolly Mike Coplowe Tamsin Crocker Robert Crosse Stephanie Farmer Robert Featherstone McIntyre Omar Ghazal Kevin Green Ben Harriman Luke Jones Sophia Jones Afra Van't Land Gabrielle LeBayon Amelia Leeson Ifigeneia Liangi Anders Lühr Hugh McEwen Alan McQuillan Ace Morgan Jay Morton Nat Mosley Morven Mulgrew Sylwia Niegodzisz Greg Nordberg Ninna Bohn Pedersen Ned Scott Nina Shen-Poblete Catrina Stewart Henry Thorold Freddy Tuppen Helen Vance Gabriel Warshafsky Viktor Westerdahl Rain Wu

Art form Toggle


Have you been to this event? What do you think? Join the discussion here!
Remember, you can include links to your instagram pictures and to videos.