By Popular Demand

9 Jan 2017 – 20 Jan 2017

Regular hours

10:00 – 17:00
10:00 – 17:00
10:00 – 17:00
10:00 – 17:00
10:00 – 17:00
10:00 – 17:00

Cost of entry


Save Event: By Popular Demand

I've seen this

People who have saved this event:


Mall Galleries

London, United Kingdom


Travel Information

  • Bus: 3, 6, 9, 11, 12, 13, 15, 16, 23, 24, 29, 53, 87, 88, 91, 139, 159, 176, 179, 453
  • Tube: Charing Cross (2 minutes walk), Piccadilly Circus (5 minutes walk), Embankment (5 minutes walk)
  • Rail: Charing Cross
Directions via Google Maps Directions via Citymapper
Event map

Revisiting the past winners of The Columbia Threadneedle Prize’s Visitors' Choice Award


By Popular Demand revisits the past winners of The Columbia Threadneedle Prize’s Visitors' Choice Award (formerly The Threadneedle Prize), and recipients of the FBA Selectors' Choice and FBA Emerging Artist Prize from the first two years of the competition (in 2008 and 2009, respectively).

Over the years our visitors and selectors have chosen a diverse range of artists to accolade.  The selection here exhibits artists at different stages of their careers, dealing with a range of subject matter, mediums and aesthetics. 

Following winning the award they have developed their practices in new directions, had significant solo shows both in the UK and abroad, used their prize money to fund new projects, joined MFA programmes and even been elected to the Royal Academy. This survey exhibition takes in what’s been happening in these artists’ careers since we last saw them and where they might be going in the future.

With the majority of prizes here awarded by public vote this exhibition is a moment to reflect on democratic processes for judging art and the rich and complex results over time.


Tim Shaw RA, Winner of FBA Selectors' Choice, 2008 

Aishan Yu, Winner of FBA Emerging Artist Prize, 2009

Boyd & Evans, Winner of the Visitors' Choice Award, 2010

Nicholas McLeod, Winner of the Visitors' Choice Award, 2011

Robert Truscott, Winner of the Visitors' Choice Award, 2012

Conrad Engelhardt, Winner of the Visitors' Choice Award, 2013

Ben Johnson, Winner of the Visitors' Choice Award, 2014

Lewis Hazelwood-Horner, Winner of the Visitors' Choice Award, 2016

Exhibiting artistsToggle

Aishan Yu

Ben Johnson


Have you been to this event? Share your insights and give it a review below.