Newcastle University Fine Arts

Newcastle Upon Tyne, United Kingdom


  • Armstrong Building
  • Newcastle Upon Tyne
  • England
  • NE1 7RU
  • United Kingdom

Opening times



Add event

Add event



The first School of Art at Newcastle was established in 1838, and as part of Durham and then Newcastle University, it has consistently maintained an excellent reputation as one of the UK leading centres for art education.  Many distinguished artists have been associated with Newcastle, either as students or as teachers, and include, for example, Lawrence Gowing, Richard HamiltonVictor PasmoreRoy Ascott, Sean Scully and Susan Hiller. The department was a key player in the radical developments in art education that took place in the UK, and which led to the development of the course known as Basic Design.

The department also houses the Hatton Gallery, which has amongst its collection one of the most iconic artworks of the twentieth century - the Elterwater 'Merzbarn', the final work of the German Dadaist Kurt Schwitters.

Exhibiting Artists