Land water paintings 1997-2005
12 Sep 2018 – 12 Oct 2018
London, United Kingdom
Hanbury Hall has a fascinating history that dates back to 1719. Originally built as a small Hugenot chapel, it has accommodated many different East London congregations over the years eventually becoming part of Christ Church in 1887.
Charles Dickens was a regular visitor in the 1800s using the building for public readings of his works and in 1888 the Match Girls held their strike meetings here as they prepared to protest against working conditions at the nearby Bryant and May factory.
Today Hanbury Hall remains at the heart of the Shoreditch community, serving sandwiches, slices, pastries and hot drinks from its street front café just around the corner from historic Brick Lane. The main hall is an intimate venue for hosting corporate events, groups and community meetings and is regularly used for filming.