The Drill Hall, Free School Lane, Lincoln,LN2 1EY
The Company of Ringers of the Blessed Virgin Mary of Lincoln was formalised on 18 October 1612, in a constitution granted by the Dean, and is the earliest known Company of Ringers still performing their duties for which they were set up. A patent, dated 23 September 1614, confirming the Rules of the Company and granting the use of the "one Chappell scituate and beinge within the dore that leadeth upp to saincte Hughe steeple to bee theire meetinge place". Thus the Lincoln Cathedral Company were granted their own Chapel, known today as The Ringers' Chapel, and unique in the field of bell ringing.
Matthew Cowan has been working with the Company of Ringers of the Blessed Virgin Mary of Lincoln, and has produced a new film of their meeting and practice which will accompany a performance. The ringers operate the 13 bells of the Cathedral in the Bell Ringer's Chamber high in the West Tower of the Cathedral. The film is a record of the ritual of the practice of the ringing of the cathedral bells, in space that has been dedicated to such activity for nearly four hundred years.
Alongside the film will be a new live performance involving the repetitive ritual of bell ringing, the mechanism of the bell ropes, and the artist's own take on the physicality of campanology.