Exhibition

The Authentic Fake

14 Jun 2018 – 17 Jun 2018

Regular hours

Thursday
10:00 – 18:00
Friday
10:00 – 18:00
Saturday
10:00 – 18:00
Sunday
10:00 – 18:00

Cost of entry

Free

Blasé House

London
England, United Kingdom

Address

Save Event: The Authentic Fake

I've seen this

People who have saved this event:

close

Young Blood Initiative presents The Authentic Fake, a 4-day programme of events encompassing an exhibition, live art, performance lectures and a gig by The Vinyl Art Project will bring together a line-up of promising international artists exploring the theme of hyperreality.

About

Participating artists for The Authentic Fake:

Risja Steeghs - https://www.risjasteeghs.com/
Sorin Choi - https://www.sorinchoi.com/
Gareth Hopkins - http://www.grthink.com/
Lola de la Mata - https://www.loladelamata.com/
Peter Barnard - http://www.peterbarnard.net/
Valentina Stocco - https://www.valentinastocco.com/
Lily Ashley - http://littlegrapejelly.com/
Hugo Hamlet - https://soundcloud.com/voolevoo
Mirei Yazawa - http://ierim.net/
Joel Cahen - https://joelcahen.wordpress.com/
Julian Weaver - http://www.hypo.io/
Paul Nataraj - https://soundcloud.com/paul-g-nataraj
Kevin Logan - http://kevinlogan.co.uk/

--------------------------------------------------------

The​ ​Authentic​ ​Fake​​ ​is​ ​the​ ​culmination​ ​of​ ​a​ ​programme​ ​exploring​ ​the​ ​nature​ ​of​ ​reality.​ ​After looking​ ​into​ ​the​ ​way​ ​we​ ​receive​ ​and​ ​decipher​ ​sensorial​ ​information​ ​in​ ​Decoding​ ​Sensations and​ ​diving​ ​into​ ​altered​ ​states​ ​of​ ​consciousness​ ​with​ ​[IN]sane,​ ​we​ ​are​ ​turning​ ​our​ ​eyes​ ​to​ ​the world​ ​of​ ​hyperreality, where the real has been replaced by its own representation.

The​ ​current​ ​state​ ​of​ ​technology,​ ​the​ ​explosion​ ​of​ ​information​ ​and​ ​mass​ ​media,​ ​the dissolution​ ​of​ ​the​ ​materiality​ ​of​ ​objects,​ ​and the​ ​primacy​ ​of​ ​images​ ​in​ ​Western​ ​societies, have changed the way we define ourselves both individually and collectively. We are using the idea of hyperreality to question and destabilise concepts such as identity, gender, veracity, origins and social order, touching on subjects like simulation & copy, collective narratives, organic vs inorganic, fact & fantasy, and the consequences in social and political discourse. 

Read more about The Authentic Fake: https://bit.ly/2rc4APu

Curators

Candy Choi

Exhibiting artists

Peter Barnard

Julian Weaver

Hannah Doucet

Joel Cahen

Valentina Stocco

Risja Steeghs

Sorin Choi

Kevin Logan

Lola de la Mata

Heleen Sintobin

Gareth Hopkins

Paul Stan Nataraj

Related events

Comments

Have you been to this event? Share your insights and give it a review below.