The Anti Gallery Gallery Show

8 Jan 2015 – 29 Jan 2015

Event times

Tues-Wed 3-8pm, Thurs-Sat 1-8pm, Sunday 11-6pm, Closed on Mondays

Cost of entry


Espacio Gallery

London, United Kingdom


Travel Information

  • Bus: Number 8, 388 bus, Brick Lane stop, walk 1 minute to 159 Bethnal Green Road
  • Train: Liverpool Street

Save Event: The Anti Gallery Gallery Show

I've seen this

People who have saved this event:


35 artists and art groups stage a takeover of the Espacio Gallery as a protest against the competitive individualism and consumerism of the traditional gallery culture, and turn the gallery into a demonstration site, an encounter space and an ideas laboratory.


The Show is designed as a festival rather than a normal exhibition and aims to create an ever changing, boisterous and engaging experience inside and outside the gallery space.  The Show features installations, performances, constructed situations, encounters and happenings that challenge the values, rituals, practices and conventions of the gallery culture.   All artworks will be created or completed at the gallery or require participation from visitors. 

Participating artists include: Andrea Artz, Graham Asker, Bodo Jackson artist collaboration, Liana Bortolozzo, Consuelo Celluzzi, Cluster Bomb (collective), Stephanie Conway, Marta Daeuble, Naya Eleftheriou, Fans of Feminism, Ahmed Farooqui, Livia Garcia, Esperanza Gomez-Carrera, Hysterical Women, Miguel Ivorra, Ellen Jewell, Graham Johnston, Matthew Kay, Dan Kennedy, Jeannette Abi Khalil, Chloë Louise Lawrence, John Ledger & John Wright, Claire Nelmes, Naomi Oduse, John O'Hare, Elspeth Penfold, Klaus Pinter, Natasha Sabatani, Diana Scarborough & Lorelei Lodestar, S.R.Jimmy, Tree Players, Jones Tensini, Monika Tobel, Kate Walters, Women's Rhythm Tap Collective.

Information on the daily schedule of events will be available at http://degrees-of-freedom.weebly.com/the-anti-gallery-gallery-show.html from 2nd January 2015.


Degrees of Freedom artist collective

Exhibiting artists

Miguel Ivorra

Fans of Feminism

Liana Bortolozzo

John Ledger & John Wright

Dan Kennedy

Jeannette Abi Khalil

Consuelo Celluzzi

Jones Tensini

Tree Players

John O'Hare

Livia Garcia

Monika Tobel

Bodo Jackson artist collaboration

Women's Tap Rhythm Collective

Graham Johnston

Klaus Pinter

Ellen Jewell

Diana Scarborough & Lorelei Lodestar

Hysterical Women Collective

Clluster Bomb (collective)

Elspeth Penfold

Stephanie Conway

Matthew Kay

Natasha Sabatini

S R Jimmy

Chloe Louise Lawrence

Naomi Oduse

Kate Walters

Marta Daeuble

Andrea Artz

Claire Nelmes

Naya Eleftheriou

Hosted by


Have you been to this event? Share your insights and give it a review below.