Swedenborg Film Festival 2016

24 Mar 2016

Event times

6.30 – 9.00 pm

Cost of entry


Swedenborg House

London, United Kingdom


Travel Information

  • Nearest underground stations: Tottenham Court Road and Holborn

Save Event: Swedenborg Film Festival 2016

I've seen this

People who have saved this event:


Showcasing new works by artist filmmakers, the Swedenborg Film Festival returns on 24 March with the artist Bridget Smith as Guest Judge.


Showcasing new works by artist filmmakers, the Swedenborg Film Festival returns on 24 March featuring:

Chris Boyd * Betschart Bros * Stewart Collinson & Dr Andrea Szigetvári * Phil Coy * Gillian Duffy * Selini Halvadaki * Matt Hulse * Christine Lucy Latimer * Susan MacWilliam * James Norton * Elena Peytchinska & Thomas Ballhausen * Daphne Rosenthal * Edwin Rostron * Hiroya Sakurai * Guli Silberstein * and Toby Tatum

At the close of the evening, SFF guest judge—the celebrated British artist Bridget Smith—will announce the winning film and the 2016 call for entries.

Co-curated in 2016 by Gareth Evans (Whitechapel Gallery) and Nora Foster (Frieze), the selected programme of short works explore the singular legacy of the Swedish philosopher, scientist and mystic Emanuel Swedenborg (1688-1772), a seminal influence on Romantic, Symbolist and Surrealist traditions, and in particular the great English artist William Blake. 

The only film festival in the world inspired by the work of a single philosopher, the Swedenborg Film Festival takes place in Swedenborg House—archive, publisher and ‘one of London’s most atmospheric venues’ (Guardian).

BRIDGET SMITH will also announce the open call for submissions for 2016/17. From 25th March to 30th July 2016, filmmakers internationally can enter short artists’ films on an array of themes that reflect the broad range of Swedenborg’s thought and work.

THE SWEDENBORG FILM FESTIVAL is curated by Gareth Evans, writer, presenter, producer (Patience: After Sebald;By Our Selves and Unseen) and Film Curator at the Whitechapel Gallery, London; and Nora Foster, Communications Co-ordinator, Frieze and formerly Assistant Curator, The Swedenborg Society.

Admission is free but capacity is limited. Book now at:

What to expect? Toggle


Nora Foster

Gareth Evans

Exhibiting artists

Selini Halvadaki

Matt Hulse

Edwin Rostron

Guli Silberstein

Bridget Smith

Gillian Duffy

Daphne Rosenthal

Christine Lucy Latimer

Chris Boyd

James Norton

Susan MacWilliam

Toby Tatum

Elena Peytchinska

Thomas Ballhausen

Hiroya Sakurai

Stewart Collinson

Phil Coy

Betschart Bros

Taking part


Have you been to this event? Share your insights and give it a review below.