Skip-Ad; Play

19 Apr 2018 – 1 May 2018

Event times

Monday - Saturday 10 - 5PM

Save Event: Skip-Ad; Play

I've seen this

People who have saved this event:


Savoy Centre

Scotland, United Kingdom

Event map

As Glasgow's contemporary biennial art world convenes, Skip-Ad; Play launches a
reactionary expression from 19 April through to 1 May 2018.


The central framework of this exhibition is spatial context. It determines a coherence among the diverse artwork displayed, informed by the global origins of the artists and the local production of their respective work. This invokes the Savoy Shopping Centre itself, a uniqueplatform facilitating interaction between the local and global. The concept of the show asked for a creative response and play on what the Savoy was, is, and could be. Accessibility was, therefore, the main point of reference to ensure that this exhibition could be displayed in a functional space. This produced a diverse arrangement of aesthetic and conceptual forms contributed by a large roster of artists.

Skip-Ad; Play is a group exhibition comprised of 25 Glasgow-based artists; Justin Apperly &Emily Chudnovsky; Jason Aaron Wall & Mikhail Sikovikov; Darae Baek; Zoe Beaudry; Cara Bonewitz; Elina Bry; Nien-Ting Chen & Jaxton Su; Megan Clark; Jamie Cooper; Corinna D'Schoto; David Fagan; Wojtek Gasiorowski; Maria Gondek; Sandy Harris; Sarah Keber; Supapong Laodheerasiri; Sun Lee; Jack McCombe; Sin Young Park; Matthew Parkin; Jeanne Tullen; and Jing Xie.

A vast assemblage of performance, video art, sculpture, painting, photography, textiles, and immersive site-specific installations offer an experiential reinterpretation of a community pillar.

The opening launch event will be held on 19 April from 18h00 - 21h00, drinks and hors-
d'oeuvres will kindly be provided by Andell’s Café, accompanied by live performances.

Curated by Edinburgh-based duo Aleya Dwivedi & Laetitia Engelbrecht-Schnuer.


Aleya Dwivedi

Laetitia Engelbrecht-Schnuer

Exhibiting artistsToggle

Elina Bry

Jing Xie

Jeanne Tullen

Jaxton Su

Darae Baek

Megan Clark

Sun Lee

Sin Young Park

Corinna D'Schoto

Jamie Cooper

Sandy Harris

Jack McCombe

Justin Apperly & Emily Chudnovsky

Cara Bonewitz

Wojtek Gasiorowski

Zoe Beaudry

Matthew Parkin

Maria Gondek

Jason Aaron Wall & Mikhail Sikovikov

Supapong Laodheerasiri

Sarah Keber

David Fagan

Nien-Ting Chen


Have you been to this event? Share your insights and give it a review below.