Loop Bercelona - Discover Award 2017

16 Feb 2018 – 26 Feb 2018

Event times

Visits from 19th-23rd from 10:00 am - 3:00 pm

Save Event: Loop Bercelona - Discover Award 20171

I've seen this

People who have saved this event:



Berlin, Germany

Event map


Loop is an independent platform dedicated to the fostering of video art, artists’ films and moving image practices. In 2015 launched LOOP Discover Award as an art video/film competition that aims to support and recognise new work by international artists. The competition solicits entries through a free open call to the artistic community and this LOOP Barcelona initiative is supported by Estrella Damm.

Founded in 2003, LOOP has, since its inception, been a pioneering, experimental space. It is open to innovative attitudes and approaches that can offer specialised audiences a curated selection of video-related content from challenging perspectives. Following a founding principle of casting light on the current trends in video art and presenting these to the general public, LOOP continues to focus on the advancement of aspiring young artists, while also presenting some more established modes of video art.

Every year, LOOP hosts LOOP Barcelona, the main meeting point and highlight for the international video art community. Through its three sections – Fair, Festival and Studies – it brings together a relevant selection of contemporary video artworks. It premieres new productions, features exhibitions, supports specific projects and screenings, and displays a large programme of talks dealing with current issues and opinions pertaining to video art.


LOOP Discover Award 2017 is proud to present the following program at GlogauAir in Berlin: 

1st Award:
Edouard Decam (France, 1978)
Volva, 2014

Honourable Mention:
Nina Fischer & Maroan el Sani (Germany, 1965/66) 
A Momentary Flight, 2017

Winner of the online voting channel:

Forever Blowing Bubbles (Spain, 1985/87)
Guanyar-se les garrofes, 2016


Claudia Joskowicz (Bolivia, 1968)
Los rastreadores, 2014

Giuliana Racco (Canada, 1976)
Mezomaro, 2016

Hyeongsuk Kim (South Korea, 1983)
A fundamental Principle, 2016

Salomé Lamas (Portugal, 1987)
The tower, 2015

Elsa Brès (France, 1985)
STELLA 50.4N1.5E , 2016

Mauricio Sáenz (Mexico, 1977)
El origen de las piedras, 2016

Rosana Antolí (Spain 1981)
WALKATIVE: From Mile End to the City. A Choreography of Resistance, 2015

Gabrielle Le Bayon (France, 1981)
The Scale of Signs, 2016

Visits from 19th-23rd from 10:00 am - 3:00 pm

What to expect? Toggle


Have you been to this event? Share your insights and give it a review below.