Exhibition

KISSS - Kinship International Strategy on Surveillance and Suppression

3 Oct 2008 – 16 Nov 2008

Event times

Wed - Sun, 1-6pm

Cost of entry

Free Admission

Castlefield Gallery

Manchester, United Kingdom

Address

Travel Information

  • No.2 Metroshuttle Bus
  • Metrolink Tram: Deansgate/Castlefield
  • Deansgate Train Station

Save Event: KISSS - Kinship International Strategy on Surveillance and Suppression

I've seen this

People who have saved this event:

close

KISSS - Kinship International Strategy on Surveillance and Suppression

About

Artists: Lead artists: Camilla Brueton, Deej Fabyc, Joanna Callaghan and Paula Roush Description: The Kinship International Strategy on Surveillance and Suppression is a five-part exhibition project directed and facilitated by Camilla Brueton, Joanna Callaghan, Deej Fabyc and Paula Roush with guest artists, exploring notions of surveillance and suppression in contemporary society. The five elements to the show include a group exhibition, video screening programme, KISSS seminar, re-presentation of the KISSS archive and web presence through the KISSS website and social network. The work responds to the enmeshed control and resistance that permeates everyday life and brings together a repository of tactics and actions that have arisen in artists' works in reaction to these psychosocial forces. Artist biographies: Screening Programme: Carlos Amorales (MEX/NED), Oreet Ashery (ISR/UK) - www.oreetashery.net, Jenna Collins & Jane Brake, (UK), Maxine Hall (UK), Claudia del Fierro (CHL) - www.claudiadelfierro.org, Coco Fusco (US) - www.thing.net/~cocofusco, Jill Magid (US) - www.jillmagid.net, Melanie Manchot (DEU/UK), Emma Wolukau-Wanambwa (UK) - www.wolukau-wanambwa.net Archive: Ambient TV (UK) - www.ambienttv.net, Anne Bean (Zambia/UK) - www.artsadmin.co.uk/projects/artist, Blast Theory (UK) — www.blasttheory.co.uk, Camilla Brueton (UK), Season Butler (US), Joanna Callaghan (UK) - www.joannacallaghan.co.uk, Dolores Sanchez Calvo (Spain) - www.s-a-l.co.uk/artist-dolores, Alexandra Dementieva (Russia) — www.alexdementieva.org, Deej Fabyc (UK/Australia) — www.fabyc.co.uk, Coco Fusco (US) - www.thing.net/~cocofusco, Karen Gaskill (UK) - www.karengaskill.info, Gilbert & Grape (UK) — www.gilbertandgrape.co.uk, Maxine Hall (UK), Louise Janvier, Calum F. Kerr (UK) — www.seeyouincourt.info, Maria Kheirkhah (Iran), Manu Luksch (Austria), Ilze Black (Latvia), Reinhard Krehl, Silke Steets and Jan Wenzel (Austria), Laboratory of Insurrectionary Imagination (UK) — www.labofii.net, Sanne Mestrom (Australia) — www.mestrom.org Tracey Moberly (Wales) — www.sanderswood.com, Paula Moss (UK) Deborah Ostrow (Australia) — www.deborahostrow.com, Psychological Art Circus (UK) — www.psychologicalartcircus.net, Suzana Rezende (Portugal), Eva Rudlinger (UK), Paula Roush (UK/Portugal) - www.msdm.org.uk, Paul Sermon (UK) — www.paulsermon.org, Nina Sobell (US) — www.ninasobell.com, Isa Suarez (France/UK) — www.isasuarez.com, Mike Stubbs (UK), Hannah Terry (UK), The Vacuum Cleaner (UK) - www.thevacuumcleaner.co.uk, Dan Williamson (UK) — www.reactorweb.com, Emma Wolukau-Wanambwa (UK) - www.wolukau-wanambwa.net Carlos Amorales courtesy of the Artist & Yvon Lambert Paris & NewYork Melanie Manchot courtesy of the Artist & Fred London Mike Stubbs — Cultural Quarter (2003) is produced by Forma, www.forma.org.uk www.kisss.org.uk

Conversation

Have you been to this event? What do you think? Join the discussion here!
Remember, you can include links to your instagram pictures and to videos.