In Their Own Words: Artists’ Voices from The Ingram Collection

20 May 2017 – 30 Jul 2017

Event times

Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday and Saturday: 10.30am – 5pm Thursday: 10.30am – 9.30pm
Sunday: 11am – 4pm
Closed Mondays and Bank Holidays

Cost of entry

£4.50 Day Pass or £7.50 Annual Pass | Under 18s Free

The Lightbox

Woking, United Kingdom


Travel Information

  • Train to Woking station, 25min direct link from London Waterloo

Save Event: In Their Own Words: Artists’ Voices from The Ingram Collection

I've seen this

People who have saved this event:


Works by some of the UK’s best-loved and most influential artists of the 20th century will be exhibited alongside audio recordings taken from the British Library’s extensive ‘Artists’ Lives’ archive


This exhibition offers a unique opportunity to explore artworks from The Ingram Collection of Modern British Art whilst listening to audio recordings from the artists that created them, shedding new light on the fascinating personal experiences that shaped their lives, relationships and art.

43 works from The Ingram Collection will feature in the exhibition. The artists selected are some of the best known within the collection: Eileen Agar, Kenneth Armitage, John Bellany, Ralph Brown, Lynn Chadwick, Geoffrey Clarke, Ken Currie, Mary Fedden, Paul Feiler, Elisabeth Frink, Terry Frost, William Gear, Derrick Greaves, Patrick Heron, Josef Herman, Allen Jones, Bernard Meadows, Brendan Neiland, Eduardo Paolozzi, Leonard Rosoman, Carel Weight and Rosemary Young.

The recordings in this Lightbox exhibition are from Artists’ Lives, a National Life Stories project in partnership with the British Library


Michael Bird

Exhibiting artists

Lynn Chadwick

Sir Terry Frost RA

Allen Jones RA

John Bellany

William Gear

Brendan Neiland

Ken Currie

Bernard Meadows

Ralph Brown

Kenneth Armitage

Patrick Heron

Mary Fedden

Elizabeth Frink

Eileen Agar

Carel Weight

Josef Herman

Eduardo Paolozzi


Have you been to this event? What do you think? Join the discussion here!
Remember, you can include links to your instagram pictures and to videos.