Nestled beside Lambeth Palace, alongside the River Thames and Lambeth Bridge is an absolute gem housed in the deconsecrated Church of St Mary's of Lambeth. The first rector recorded was in 1197 and up until the early 1700s the bells would ring out to herald royal visitors to the Palace as the Horseferry landing stage was practically on the doorstep. The building underwent a multitude of changes until 1977 when it was threatened with demolition and was saved by John & Rosemary Nicholson and opened as the Museum of Garden History. Recently relaunched as 'The Garden Museum', we are delighted to have been loaned an array of quirky gardening implements that provide a link between the 'Animus Flux' and 'Spadeworks' exhibitions and show how the art of tilling, sowing and growing is an ancient and timeless one. From a Bronze Age sickle, to a Victorian bird scarer and combined walking stick and thistle slasher through to 'Doc' a Disney gnome from the 1940s, you cannot fail to be fascinated by the obsessions of the green fingered!
(www.gardenmuseum.org.uk T: 0207 401 88650)