Exhibition

Facing Realities

26 Jan 2019 – 24 Feb 2019

Event times

Saturday, Sundays, 13 - 18 h & by appointment

Cost of entry

FREE

The Art Union

Berlin
Berlin, Germany

Address

Save Event: Facing Realities

I've seen this

People who have saved this event:

close

THE ART UNION presents the group exhibition “FACING REALITIES” as an artistic exploration of allotment gardening in Germany based on a prototypical allotment in Berlin-Charlottenburg.

About

The exhibition is on view from the 26th of January until the 24th of February, 2019, always on Saturdays and Sundays and by appointment. The interested public is welcome to check in free of charge: https://the-art-union.com/facing-realities/ The exact address of the venue will be sent via e-mail after check in.

ABOUT THE EXHIBITION
In the heart of a garden colony in Berlin-Charlottenburg, the exhibition “FACING REALITIES” explores the dispositif of allotment gardening in Germany by more than 30 contemporary positions. A 300sqm gardening plot which belonged to a family of policemen for 35 years serves as the starting point for the exploration of the sociotope of the interaction between identity and common understanding of the colonists. The perspectives on this phenomena could hardly be more diverse: More than 30 Berlin-based German and international artists aged between 19 and 59 explore this microcosm by incorporating the legacy of the former owners of the allotment garden and put them indoor and outdoor in the context of their respective medium – whether it be painting, sculpture, assemblage, photography, moving images, animation, performance or dance art. Thus, a polyphonic commentary on our times arises between the tension field of deconstruction of tradition and construction of significance.

PARTICIPATING ARTISTS
Anna Anders - https://www.anna-anders.de/
Björn Heyn - https://www.instagram.com/bjoernheyn/
Charles Benjamin - https://www.instagram.com/charlesbenjamin1234/
Diego Cirulli - https://www.instagram.com/diegocirulli/
Fabian Warnsing - https://www.instagram.com/fabianwarnsing/
Frank Kunert - https://www.frank-kunert.de/
Gabriella Hirst - https://www.instagram.com/gabriellahirst/
Georg Hobelsberger - https://www.instagram.com/georg.hobelsberger/
Heun Min Kim - https://www.instagram.com/heunmin_tanzer/
Jackie Riccio - https://www.instagram.com/jackie.ricc/
Jana Jedermann - https://www.instagram.com/ggsgbj/
Jannis Uffrecht - https://www.instagram.com/jannisuffrecht/
Jazoo Yang - https://www.instagram.com/jazooyang_art/
Johannes Mundinger - https://www.instagram.com/johannesmundinger/
Jonas Heyn - https://soundcloud.com/jonas-heyn-6526166
Julim Rosa - https://www.instagram.com/julimrosa/
Karin Kimel - https://www.instagram.com/karinkimel/
Katya Quel - https://www.instagram.com/quelish/
Kevin Lüdicke - https://www.instagram.com/kevin_luedicke/
Marina Páez-Morsh - https://www.instagram.com/marinapaezmorsh/
Maxine Puorro - https://www.instagram.com/tooneymax/
Mike Okay - https://www.instagram.com/mikeokay/
Peter Phobia - https://www.instagram.com/peterphobia/
Pablo Benzo - https://www.instagram.com/pablobenzo/
Philip Junk - https://www.instagram.com/philip_junk/
Quintessenz - https://www.instagram.com/quinte55enz/
Robert Voit - http://www.robertvoit.com/
Rocco und seine Brüder - https://www.instagram.com/rocco_and_his_brothers/
Samuel Solazzo - https://www.instagram.com/samuelsolazzo/
Tom Palluch - https://www.instagram.com/tompalluchwashere/
Toni Spyra - https://www.instagram.com/tonispyra/
Via Lewandowsky - https://www.instagram.com/via.lewandowsky/
wc_baby - https://www.instagram.com/wc_baby/

What to expect? Toggle

Comments

Have you been to this event? Share your insights and give it a review below.