Exhibition

Every Me

9 Nov 2017 – 12 Nov 2017

Event times

Private View: 09 November 2017, 6-9pm
Exhibition continues: 10-12 November 2017, 11am-5pm

Cost of entry

free

27B Gallery

London, United Kingdom

Address

Travel Information

  • Buses: 73, 76, 243, 106, 149
  • Tube: Seven Sister

Save Event: Every Me

I've seen this

People who have saved this event:

close

EVERY ME : 9-12 NOVEMBER 2017

Following an art residency programme in Turkey international artists who are mostly graduates of the MA programme at Central Saint Martins are responding to their experience with an exhibition of work in London.

About

Featuring Artists:

Alice Kemp: http://alicekemp.com/
Eva Wilkinson http://evawilkinson.co.uk/
Lena Heubusch http://www.lenaheubusch.com/
Manji Kikuma: http://www.yuichirokikuma.com/
Matt Swerski: https://www.mattsiwerski.com/
Mustafa Boga www.mustafaboga.com
Subash Thebe http://subashthebe.com/
Stephanie Wong https://stephanie-wong.com/

.....................................

Every Me / Ben Tanıdık Bir Yabancı was an art residency curated by Mustafa Boga in Adana, Turkey from 21st of September until 8th of October in 2017. Most of the artists had never been to Adana.

The residency was a collaboration between local life and visiting artists and examined how experiences that come from culture, education, lifestyles and religion can be explored and interpreted through visual and expressive language.

The residency focused on ‘Self Portrait’ and encouraged participants to reflect on how their behaviors change when living in unfamiliar cultures, and how this might impact on their sense of identity.

Understanding a new culture is a journey that starts at a personal level. Before exploring and questioning our surroundings, we need to look at the assumptions and perceptions we have. We often discover more about ourselves while observing others.

Following an exhibition in Turkey the artists are now responding to their experience with an exhibition of work in London.

.........................

Private View: 09 November 2017, 6-9pm
Exhibition continues: 10-12 November 2017, 11am-5pm
Location: Lower ground floor, 27b Belfast road, N166UN (right next to Stoke Newington station)

Curators

Alice Kemp

Exhibiting artists

Stephanie Wong

Eva Wilkinson

Subash Thebe

Alice Kemp

Manji Kikuma

Lena Heubusch

Matt Swerski

Mustafa Boğa

Conversation

Have you been to this event? What do you think? Join the discussion here!
Remember, you can include links to your instagram pictures and to videos.