Drawing Biennial 2019

20 Feb 2019 – 26 Mar 2019

Event times

Tuesday- Friday 11:00 am - 6:00 pm
Saturday-Sunday 12:00 pm- 6:00 pm

Cost of entry


Drawing Room

England, United Kingdom


Travel Information

  • Elephant and Castle

Save Event: Drawing Biennial 2019

I've seen this

People who have saved this event:


An exhibition and auction of over 200 unique drawings, showcasing the most exciting artists working today.


Including works using every imaginable technique, Drawing Biennial 2019 affirms the centrality of drawing to all spheres of artistic production. The exhibition includes more than 200 new and recent works on paper by leading international artists of different generations. 

In the exhibition, artists associated with the medium of drawing such as Charles Avery, Huma Bhabha, Nikhal Chopra and Kathy Prendergast sit alongside those better known as sculptors, such as Richard Deacon, Francis Upritchard and Alison Wilding, or as painters, such as Ryan Mosley and George Shaw.  

Culminating in an online auction in the exhibition’s final two weeks, all works are available to purchase from a starting bid of £300. Proceeds from the auction support Drawing Room’s exhibition, learning and publishing programme and growth of its unique study library.

Artists have been invited to make an original drawing by Drawing Room directors Mary Doyle, Kate Macfarlane and Katharine Stout, with additional nominations by leading international artists, museum directors, curators and collectors. 

Drawing Biennial 2019 signals the diversity of artists’ imagination, demonstrating the vitality and importance of drawing today. 

What to expect? Toggle

Exhibiting artists

Rana Begum

Mark Wallinger

Mark Wallinger

Andrea Büttner

Marie Jacotey

Nidhal Chamekh

Athena Papadopoulos

George Shaw

Margarita Gluzberg

Antony Gormley

Antony Gormley

Juliette Blightman

David Noonan

Lisa Milroy

Michael Landy

Michael Landy

Jérôme Zonder

Oona Grimes

Alison Wilding

Devlin Shea

David Austen

Paul Noble

Penny Goring

Ryan Mosley

Aleana Egan

Hiraki Sawa

Raqib Shaw

Ryan Gander

Ryan Gander

Huma Bhabha

Richard Deacon

Richard Deacon

Mark Sheinkman

Cornelia Parker

Emma Talbot

Nilbar Güreş

Jiří Thýn

Jesse Darling

Fani Parali

Bob & Roberta Smith

Ronald Cornelissen

Yifat Bezalel

Ciprian Muresan

Rose Wylie

Chantal Joffe

Francis Upritchard

Charles Avery

Lothar Götz

Mona Hatoum

Patrick Goddard

Marc Bauer

Lisa Brice

Bedwyr Williams

Timo Nasseri

Karl Holmqvist

Art & Language

Alice Channer

Kathy Prendergast

Idris Khan

Nikhal Chopra

Leo Fitzmaurice

Sandra Vasquez de la Horra

Radhika Khimji

David Haines

Sonia Boyce

Hetain Patel

Jessica Voorsanger

Salvatore Arancio

Nicola Tyson

Martin Boyce

Caroline Achaintre

Rhys Coren

Jyll Bradley

Alice Maher

Nicolas Deshayes

Related events


Have you been to this event? Share your insights and give it a review below.