CUBEOpen 2011 Exhibition

16 Dec 2011 – 4 Feb 2012

Event times

Mon-Fri 12-5:30pm, Saturdays 12-5pm, Sundays closed

Cost of entry



Manchester, United Kingdom


Travel Information

  • Situated only 5mins away from both Manchester Picadilly and Manchester Oxford Road train stations.

Save Event: CUBEOpen 2011 Exhibition

I've seen this

People who have saved this event:


CUBEOpen 2011 Exhibition


Preview: 15th December 2011 6-8pm CUBEOpen 2011 is the UK's only annual open competition and exhibition of its kind! Launched in 2007, artists, architects and designers are invited to apply with work that reflects current trends and debates surrounding the spaces and places in which we live. Each year the exhibition highlights contemporary insights into the urban environment. The CUBEOpen receives applications from around the globe and visitors to the exhibition will have the unique opportunity to see the diverse and engaging ways that artists, architects and designers have been influenced by our surroundings. An esteemed panel of judges are invited annually to shortlist the applications. Selectors this year included- Robert Powell - Creative Director, Beam Wakefield; Paul Herrmann - Director, Red Eye Photography Network; Jane Anderson - Creative Director, CUBE; Stephen Whittle - Collections Curator, University of Salford. More than 30 artists have been selected for exhibition, including a compactable TATE model (pictured), Guerrilla artwork and interventions that lead you outside the gallery. This year's overall winners are Shift//Delete, emerging urban interventionists represented by Upper Space. The work of this Manchester-based collaboration orbits around central narratives of social, environmental and spatial justice issues and is often unauthorised and anonymously installed within the public realm. Commendations go to: Ian Kirkpatrick and Kristin Posehn Participating artists: Andrew Brown, Samuel Capps, Mark Clare, Justine Cook, Aideen Doran and Fionnuala Doran, Kelda Free and David Brazier, Becky Gee, Isabelle Hayeur, Flis Holland, Philip Kennedy, Seulki Ki, Ian Kirkpatrick , Elizabeth Kwant, Hannah Leighton—Boyce, Manchester Modernist Society, Fabien Marques, , Katie McGown, Rosalie Monod de Froideville, Charlotte Mortensson, Lauren O'Grady, Simon Parish, Nathan Pendlebury, Kristin Posehn, Rosey Prince, Robin Pugh, Amanda Rice, Ailie Rutherford, Jennie Savage, Shift (from Shift//Delete), Jon Spencer, Jenny Steele, Matthew Thompson, Tristan Thomson, Pamela Valfer, Mary-Ruth Walsh, Peter Ward, Jiho Won.


Have you been to this event? Share your insights and give it a review below.